Becka's leah or Becka's clearing in a wood.
Beccalege 1005-12, Bechelie 1086 (Domesday Book) other variations Becceleam 1108, Bekele 1123-33 Becklea 1167, Bykeleye c1200, Bokele 1285
Return to index page
Map of the old Parish of Beckley
Beckley 25 June 2000 The 1919 Estate Sale
Beckley Millennium Book 'Beckley Reflects' will continue to be on sale throughout the year.
Copies are available from the Royal Oak Farm Shop, the Abingdon Arms, Grove Farm
House and Lindurn Cottage (Tel.01865 351 592). All proceeds are going to benefit
One of many pictures from "Beckley Reflects"
drawing of the ancient tower on the heading above, is to be shown on future
Newsletters as depicting Beckley's historic past. The building was part of the
fortifications of Beckley Palace which was started in the eleventh century on
the hill behind the present Old Manor Farmhouse. Writers in the eighteenth
century described the moat and earthworks as still being visible at that time
together with the tower which was then in use as a dovehouse. The name of the
field in which the palace stood is known as `The Duffus' or `Duffers' field, a
local derivation of Dovehouse.
original drawing appeared in Dunkin
's History and Antiquities of Bullingdon and Ploughley 1823.
Abingdon Arms The
pub was been taken over by Wootton Inns in September 2001, a company that is jointly owned by
The pub was been taken over by Wootton Inns in September 2001, a company that is jointly owned by Brakspears Brewery.
Abingdon Arms Pub and Restaurant
Tel 01865 351311
The Abingdon Arms serves home
made quality food including lunches and dinners (12-2.30 and 7 - 9.30).
Beckley C of E Primary School
Beckley Park 1908 and c1975 below
Beckley Village Hall
Return to previous page