Horton cum Studley Cricket Club re-formed 1947

The cricket club was formed on 24th June 1947 at a meeting held at the Vicarage under the chairmanship of Mr E J Bolus.

The following officers were elected:


Chairman - E J Bolus

President Captain Henderson

Vice President Mr Bawtree

Secretary F G Barber

Treasurer Mr Hawes

Captain Ben Wakelin

Vice Captain George Jones

The actual minutes


The letter to clubs


The first match against Brill on 19 July was cancelled but they took to the field on 26 July against Oakley.


Team list


In the first innings the home team scored 31 and Oakley 89 runs.


In the second innings the home team scored 13 incl 8 extras! All singles wickets taken by Brown. Oakley won by an innings.


The team was (in batting order):

J Pettigrew

N West

L Honour

D Honour

G Stanton

J Wakelin

W Pagan

B Wakelin

G Jones

F Faulkener

R Williams


The umpire was C Merry


The first score sheet


The score book is kept by Mr J Wakelin


Minutes of 1948 meeting


Some other early team results:



4 August - Married v Singles.  Married 112 (C Merry 21, J Briscoe 36), Singles 73 (B Jones 2)


9 August v Wheatley. Horton 99 (B Wakelin 43), Wheatley 190 for 4 (L Hanks 74). Horton scored 41 in the second innings.


16 August v Studley Priory. Horton 149 (A Hicks 38, N West 24, R Merry 49), Studley Priory 131, (B Wakelin 44, G Jones 43)


30 August v Ashendon. Horton 63 (D Honour 10), Ashendon 123 (G Stanton took 3 wickets), second innings 31 August  Horton 108, Ashendon 76.


7 September v Holton. Horton 24, Holton 77, second innings 45, Holton 31 for 3.


13 September v Merton. Horton 97, Merton 127 and 44 all out.  Horton did not have a second innings and the match was a draw.